Skip navigation

Every time some maniac kills a few people someplace besides Oakland or Chicago, (because, apparently, no liberals give a shit about teenage punks in ghettos), the press and tv immediately drool over the prospect of an AR-15 rifle being involved.
They can’t get enough of the AR-15, ever since a monster shot up a theater in Colorado.
It seems this weapon, unlike the very popular semi-automatic handguns in use all over the world, is seen as somehow capable of making it’s own decisions, and of killing innocent people all my itself.

So, the press, hoping for another mass killing perpetrated by this animated rifle, drools over the prospects of it being true, so that they may do what they do every time.
I need not elaborate, but I remind you how little these “reporters” seem to know about firearms, and how stupid they sound.

Case in point. The Washington shooter killed some people.
He used a Remington 870 Express 12 gauge shotgun, one of millions Remington has manufactured and sold. Police departments use them all over the world. Hunters use them. Trap shooters practice with them (but they prefer much more expensive guns). Needless to say, there are many of them.
But the one used in Washington was a special edition.
It was an “AR-15 Shotgun”.
Yep. An “AR-15 Shotgun”.
CNN shared this important piece of “breaking news” with America the day the shootings occurred. They announced this important fact, and Americans knew, once again, that they were so lucky to have CNN protecting their freedoms and insuring their safety from maniacs like me.

Because, I own an AR-15, and I also own a Remington 870. I suppose if I put them next to one another, they just might procreate. Or something.

Anyway, not wanting to let a good crisis go to waste, the anti gun nuts are in force once again. They are telling us all how evil we are, and how much safer we would all be if only criminals and cops had the ability to defend themselves.

They are so much smarter than us neanderthals. I am so happy they think so much of me to help me out, since I am too stupid to make my own decisions. They have to make them for me. Thanks, Feinstein. Thanks, Boxer. Thanks, Obama. And thanks, Joe Biden.

“There’s just one thing……”, (Columbo)

The 2nd Amendment does not “give” me the right to possess and use arms.
That’s right.
I utterly agree that it does NOT give me the right to bear arms.

That’s because the Founders did not GIVE me the right to keep and bear arms.
“What?”, you ask…. How can I be saying such a thing?…. Why, it’s right there, the Second Amendment to the Constitution. Not the Tenth, not the Sixth. The Second. Right after the Freedom of the Press, and the Freedom of Speech. Amendment Number TWO.

What does it say?…

As ratified by the States and authenticated by Thomas Jefferson, then-Secretary of State:

“A well regulated militia being necessary to the security of a free state, the right of the people to keep and bear arms shall not be infringed.”

One sentence. Now, many anti gun people have parsed the words above, but the Supreme Court recently decided that it IS an INDIVIDUAL right that is referred to, and being a “member of a state militia” is not part of the deal here.

It refers to “the people”, and every time “the people” are mentioned in the Constitution, it means you, me, your parents, your kids, your friends, and your enemies.

But all of us can see that it means ME.
That has been cleared up, but some idiots still don’t see that as the fact. That’s ok. They don’t matter.

The Fourth Amendment says:

“The right of the people to be secure in their persons, houses, papers, and effects, against unreasonable searches and seizures, shall not be violated, and no Warrants shall issue, but upon probable cause, supported by Oath or affirmation, and particularly describing the place to be searched, and the persons or things to be seized.”

(Perhaps Obama and company should read that one again, especially his entire Justice Department. But I digress).

There it is again….”of the people”. RIGHT THERE, in the prepositional phrase after the first two words.

Remember that a prepositional phrase will never contain the subject of a sentence. But that may be getting too complicated for you…

Let’s just say this:

The prepositional phrase, “of the people”, clearly, in this instance, refers to an individual right, not a collective right. A “place to be searched, and the persons or things….” clearly refers to a single person.

So that’s clear.

Now let this be clear: The Second Amendment does not give me the right to keep and bear arms. No, siree. No way. It does not give me any right whatsoever.

No. The Second Amendment, and the other ten in the Bill of Rights, does not give me any rights at all.
That’s because the government does not give me any rights whatsoever.
My rights exist without the government. My rights existed before the formation of the US Constitution. Before the election of Barack Obama. Before the establishment of the Internal Revenue Service.

The people, collectively, give the GOVERNMENT the right to govern. But most Americans have no idea.

The Bill of Rights does not even need to exist for me to have rights.
But, conveniently, the Founders took the trouble and time to express those rights.

The Bill of Rights AFFIRMS my rights.

The President, Congress, the Governor, the Board of Supervisors, my Homeowners Association, none of them have any power over my basic rights.

I do not need permission to defend myself or my family, or my property.
I do not need permission to form my own news organization and exercise my Freedom of the Press. (Feinstein notwithstanding).

I have that right, and others, no matter what laws such fools decide to write down.

Therefore, I live my life completely the way I prefer, including my choice of firearm possession or non possession, at any time.

Questions?

Leave a Reply

